Last night I met up at Wilshire and Western.
It was wild. The group of about 600 massed up on the north east corner, above the subway entrance and we finally rolled out north on Western completely shutting down traffic and running every red light. We headed west on 6th street and that was wonderful, a massive group riding through Hancock Park, yelling and making noise, joking, jockeying...
We then went south on Robertson headed below Pico and then turned around and stopped traffic at Olympic. The larger group ahead did this circle of death there, where they ride around in a circle and then pick up their bikes over their heads and hold the bikes up in the air and continue to walk in the circle. After that we headed east again on Olympic then up Fairfax, east on 3rd and into Pan Pacific Park.
I rode with Irv, he said that he usually rides to the 2nd stop with the group and then heads home but he called it after the park. He went home and I rode with everyone out and up LaBrea about as far as Santa Monica.
People came out of stores and restaurants and yelled from their cars, "Why are you doing this?"
The videos on Youtube don't quite do it justice. You have to do it to feel the fun and excitement. I've never laughed so much while riding my bike.
Oh, and I can't walk at all right now.

No comments:
Post a Comment